Mobilizing in Lincoln with Mobile Me & You

I hate to ever miss a class, but sometimes an opportunity is too good to pass up.

That’s what happened last week when I headed out to Nebraska Thursday and Friday for the first Mobile Me & You conference at University of Nebraska-Lincoln.

Truth be told, I had no intention of  attending the conference (nor had I heard of it) until an email arrived informing me the iPad research I conducted with my former GA 9and student) Natalee Seely, “Making Mojos,” had been named one of the top papers in the most recent edition of Journalism and Mass Communication Educator.

So I headed west to present our research, without any clear idea the company I would soon be keeping.

Only when I got there did I realize I was in a crowd so impressive I had to double check I had actually been invited to join them, and so knowledgable I can’t wait to use what I learned from:

  • Victor Hernandez, who left CNN to become a Donald W. Reynolds Journalism Institute non-residential fellow, and shared what he knows about wearable technology’s impact on newsrooms;
  • Retha Hill, executive director of the Digital Innovation and Entrepreneurship Lab at Arizona State’s Cronkite School, who showed the entrepreneurial side of journalism;
  • Alan Knitowski, CEO of Phunware, Inc., who freaked us out with the marketing tools mobile provides;
  • My great friend Allissa Richardson, mobile media professor at Bowie State University, who joined with Judd Slivka, assistant professor of convergence journalism at the Missouri School of Journalism to show us new mobile tools and tips; and
  • Aaron Smith, senior researcher at Pew Research Center who showed us amazing mobile data–just, millennials would rather give up their toothbrushes and deodorant than their mobile phones!

For two days we absorbed information, brainstormed, encouraged, developed and sought out potential collaboration. It was awe-inspiring.

We are entering the 11th week, when energy normally runs low, but after two days in Lincoln I am more energized than ever. Let’s get moving!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

