Welcome to the Real World of Kraft Comm Classes

Working in the new media landscape, no matter what venue, is very competitive.

Our classes will guide you toward and equip you with skills for success, but we can’t make you successful.

office Here is what can:

  • Do behave as an adult, as I very much want to treat you like one.
  • Do show up on time and dress like you are here to work.
  • Do work hard and help others.
  • Do help yourself and be professional to everyone.
  • Do treat every assignment like it’s the most important in the world
  • Do open yourself to hear and use constructive comments.
  • Do re-envision your work in every revision.
  • Do remember the phone is your friend.
  • Do visit my office. I always have animal crackers (see photo), tea and comfy chairs. And I always want to help you.

On the other hand, here is what not to do:

  • Don’t skip class.
  • Don’t be late.
  • Don’t disrespect your classmates.
  • Don’t be afraid to speak up.
  • Don’t miss deadlines.
  • Don’t make excuses.
  • Don’t blame others.
  • Don’t work only for a grade.
  • Don’t copy anyone else’s work and claim as your own
  • Don’t use work from another class in this class.
  • Don’t assume I know everything–challenge and educate me!

Fact: This is your career

I know you signed up for a class, but you need to treat this one like it’s a job. Your reward and compensation is what you learn, and how well prepared you are for the real world.

Fact: Failure is an option

True failure is when you don’t try or refuse to go beyond your comfort zone. This is the place to work hard, make mistakes, try again, do better. The best learning often comes after failure. Work with me and I will let you stumble, but I won’t let you fall.

Fact: This is a journey

I grade based on where you begin, where you end and the journey in between. Grades are earned —not negotiated or coaxed or rewarded. Do your best, see your work objectively and constructively, do better; produce work of which you can be proud for a grade of which you will be proud.

We are in this together. I will never leave you behind. I will always help you navigate the work in our classes, the university and life in general.

I am your editor. My door is always open.

Leave a Reply

