When Your Book is Featured in the Apple Newsletter, Life Seems Pretty Much Complete

I thought life was complete when our course, “Writing and Editing for News,” hit No. 1 on iTunes U.

Screen shot 2013-09-12 at 10.32.31 PMThat was before our interactive text book, “Always Get the Name of the Dog,” made the feature spot in the Apple Education newsletter.

It’s appropriate it should happen today–the birthday of my friend Collin Binkley, who gave me the anecdote for my interactive book on interviewing which I wrote to support our Ohio State journalism classes.

Getting the name of the dog is advice many a reporter has received when covering a story. It means no fact is too mundane, and no question should be left unasked if it means an answer that the reader wants to know.

I must give a huge shout out to the best friend #osucomm2221 ever had–Cory Tressler–who helped bring me to Apple last December for a life changing Boot Camp experience, as well as Ashley Miller and Joel Davies, who taught me all I know about interactive books.

Mike Hofherr’s vision drives all of our iTunes efforts, and he has the world’s best staff, which includes Cory, Liv Gjestvang, Steve Lieb and my inspiration for iTunes and beyond, Matthew “Dr Fus” Stoltzfus.

Finally, a huge thank you to Steve Wilson, whose encouragement and vision from Infinite Loop Drive is helping us pave new ground in journalism education in what I hope is true Apple fashion.

It was nine months ago today that we flew out to California for our iTunes U Boot Camp, two days that changed my life and began teaching metamorphosis that I believe has made our journalism classes (and students) better, stronger, faster.

And the adventure has just begun.

Leave a Reply

