Kraft of Writing

When our school director asked me to teach Media Law and Ethics this semester, I thought, “That could be interesting.” I had taken the media law course twice–as an undergraduate at Temple University and as a graduate student at Ohio State, and as a journalist for more than 20 years, I had faced my fair share of ethical conundrums, and had learned from each one of them.

One of the class goals was to present for them a weekly Ethical Challenge, whereby they would be faced with an ethical issues from the real world, and have to talk out what thy would do and why they would do it. I had a whole list put together of potential topics–Stephen Glass style fabrication to the News of the World phone hacking to accepting gifts in the newsroom to taking nude princess pictures.

What I did not count on was the explosion…

View original post 539 more words

Leave a Reply

